Web Accessibility Toolkit for Research Libraries Launched by ARL

web-accessibility-toolkit-screenshotOn the third annual Global Accessibility Awareness Day (#GAAD), the Association of Research Libraries (ARL) is proud to announce the availability of a new resource for the ARL membership and the library community—a Web Accessibility Toolkit for research libraries. ARL’s toolkit shares the fundamental goal of GAAD, which is to “raise the profile” of digital accessibility and provide resources for improving access to information to “the broadest audience possible.” The toolkit aims to:

Read more »  

Call for Nominations: Library Assessment Career Achievement Awards

u-washington-suzzallo-libraryimage © Chris DubéARL and the Library Assessment Conference Planning Committee are now soliciting nominations for the 2014 Library Assessment Career Achievement Awards, which will be presented at the Library Assessment Conference in Seattle, August 4–6. These awards honor individuals with substantial contributions to the field of library assessment based on both of the following criteria:

Read more »

CLIR Board Elects New Members

clir-logoCouncil on Library and Information ResourcesThe board of the Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR) elected eight new members at the spring 2014 board meeting:

Dan Cohen, executive director, Digital Public Library of America

Darby English, Starr director of the research and academic program, Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute

Emilie Gordenker, director of the Royal Picture Gallery Mauritshuis

James Hilton, dean of university libraries and professor, University of Michigan

Anne R. Kenney, Carl A. Kroch university librarian, Cornell University

Max Marmor, president, Samuel H. Kress Foundation

Daniel Weiss, president, Haverford College

Gene Wiemers, vice president for information and library services and librarian, Bates College

Read more »

Stanley Wilder Named Dean of LSU Libraries

stanley-wilderStanley Wilder, image courtesy LSULouisiana State University (LSU) has appointed Stanley Wilder as dean of LSU Libraries, effective July 1, 2014, pending approval by the LSU Board of Supervisors. Wilder is currently university librarian at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. He previously served at the University of Rochester as associate dean of information management services, following 10 years at LSU. As dean of LSU Libraries, he succeeds Jennifer Cargill, who retired in February 2013. Elaine Smyth has served as interim dean during the search process. For more information about Wilder and his appointment, see the May 5 LSU news release, “Stanley Wilder Named Dean of LSU Libraries.”


NCSU Hosts ARL Leadership Fellows for Site Visit

arl-leadership-fellows-at-ncsuARL Leadership Fellows at NCSU, April 2014, image © Pascal Calarco
The 2013–2015 ARL Leadership Fellows were hosted by the North Carolina State University (NCSU) Libraries and vice provost and director of libraries, Susan Nutter, for a four-day site visit, April 22–25, 2014. The program agenda included tours of the D. H. Hill Library as well as the newly constructed James B. Hunt Jr. Library. The tours were complemented by discussions with campus and library leaders about planning and designing campus and library spaces at NCSU. A reception was held with honorary guest James B. Hunt Jr., former governor of North Carolina. The program concluded with a series of elective sessions on various topics, including technology implementations, scholarly communication, digital library initiatives, and library planning, among others.

Read more »  

EDUCAUSE President and CEO Diana Oblinger to Retire

diana-oblingerDiana G. Oblinger, image courtesy EDUCAUSEDiana G. Oblinger, EDUCAUSE president and CEO, announced that she will retire in March 2015. Oblinger joined EDUCAUSE, a higher education technology association, in 2004 as a vice president and was named president in 2008. The EDUCAUSE Board of Directors expects to announce a search for the new president soon. For more information, see the April 3 EDUCAUSE press release, “EDUCAUSE President and CEO Diana Oblinger to Retire in 2015 after a Career Advancing Education Technology Issues.”


ARL Joins Coalition in Urging Senators to Close Innovation Deficit

close-the-innovation-deficit-video-screenshotClose the Innovation DeficitOn April 29, 2014, the US Senate Appropriations Committee conducted a hearing on the “innovation deficit” in which the heads of the nation’s major research agencies jointly testified on the need for federal research investments to drive innovation and economic growth. ARL joined a group of 50 leading business, higher education, scientific, and patient organizations in submitting written testimony (PDF) that urged members of the committee to make strong, sustained investments in research in order to close the innovation deficit.

Read more »  

U Iowa Named a Library of the Year by US GPO

u-iowa-main-libraryUI Main Library, photo by Tom Jorgensen, © UIThe University of Iowa (UI) Libraries has been named a “Library of the Year” by the US Government Printing Office (GPO). The UI is one of four libraries in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) being recognized for leadership, educational outreach, and commitment to providing free public access to information available from the federal government.
Read more »

IFLA Selects Columbus for 2016 World Congress

columbus-ohio-main-street-bridge-at-sunsetMain Street Bridge, Columbus, image © Dave SoldanoColumbus, Ohio, has been chosen as the site for the 2016 International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) World Library and Information Congress. More than 4,000 people from 120 countries are expected to attend the event, which will be held August 11–18, 2016, at the Greater Columbus Convention Center.

Read more »

Richard Clement Named Dean of UNM University Libraries

richard-clementRichard W. Clement, image courtesy UNMThe University of New Mexico (UNM) has appointed Richard W. Clement as dean of the UNM College of University Libraries and Learning Sciences, effective July 1, 2014. Clement is currently dean of libraries and adjunct professor of history at Utah State University. At UNM, he succeeds Martha Bedard, who stepped down to take the position of vice provost for University of Connecticut Libraries in October 2013. Michael Kelly has served as interim dean of UNM libraries during the search process. For more information about Clement and his appointment, see the April 24 UNM news article, “Clement Appointed Dean of UNM College of University Libraries & Learning Sciences.”

Page 11 of 54


Coalition for Networked Information Logo
Library Copyright Alliance Logo
The Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) Logo