{{ site.title }}

About the Fund, Lecture & Scholarship

Julia Blixrud, photo by Keith Russell

To honor the memory and extend the legacy of longtime ARL staff member Julia Blixrud, the Association of Research Libraries (ARL) has created the Julia C. Blixrud Memorial Fund, which supports a scholarship for a master of library and information science (MLIS) student or recent graduate to attend the Fall Forum. The forum is a one-day conference on a topic of interest to the research library community, held immediately after the Association’s Fall Meeting in Washington, DC, each year. The Fall Forum embodies Julia’s passion for ideas, breadth of expertise, and collegiality, and this scholarship reflects her commitment to the development of the profession.

The Julia C. Blixrud Scholarship will be presented annually to a current MLIS student or a graduate who is within two years of graduation. The award recipient will receive a scholarship of $1,000 plus registration to attend the Fall Forum and will be asked to tweet during the conference and write a summary about her/his participation in the event. The Association of Research Libraries will issue a call for scholarship applications in August and a selection committee composed of volunteers from ARL member institutions and ARL’s staff will select the recipient by mid-September.

In addition to the scholarship, the Association of Research Libraries has founded an annual keynote lecture at the Fall Forum in memory of Julia, supported by the forum registration fees. The Julia C. Blixrud Memorial Lecture is presented at the Fall Forum. The lecture awardee will receive an honorarium and travel expenses for attending the event. Candidates for the Memorial Lecture award will be individuals who have made a long-lasting contribution or indelible impact on key issues related to the theme of the Fall Forum. The lecture awardee will be an individual who is innovative and active in areas of interest to the research library community.

Click here for a list of previous Julia C. Blixrud Memorial Lecture and Scholarship awardees.