{{ site.title }}

Call for Nominations for Paul Evan Peters Award—Deadline November 8, 2019

Paul Evan Peters
Paul Evan Peters

The Paul Evan Peters Award recognizes the most notable and lasting international achievements related to information technology and the creation and use of information resources and services that advance scholarship and intellectual productivity. The Association of Research Libraries (ARL), the Coalition for Networked Information (CNI), and EDUCAUSE jointly offer the award and invite nominations by November 8, 2019.

Recipients of the Paul Evan Peters Award embody the rare combination of strategic vision, technical innovation, and humanitarian outlook that the award seeks to promote. Past awardees have been Herbert Van de Sompel (2017), research scientist, Lost Alamos National Laboratory; Donald A.B. Lindberg (2014), director of the National Library of Medicine; Christine L. Borgman (2011), professor and Presidential Chair in Information Studies, UCLA; Daniel E. Atkins (2008), inaugural director of the National Science Foundation’s Office of Cyberinfrastructure; Paul Ginsparg (2006), founder of arXiv, an e-print archive for articles in the sciences; Brewster Kahle (2004), founder of the Internet Archive and chair of its Board of Directors; “father of the internet” Vinton Cerf (2002); and Tim Berners-Lee (2000), inventor of the World Wide Web.

Award winners are recommended by a committee of representatives of ARL, CNI, and EDUCAUSE, and selected by the chief executives of the three organizations.

Selection Guidelines

Awards will be presented to individuals who have made career-long contributions to the advancement of scholarly information and communications and who meet at least one and preferably more of the following criteria:

  1. Demonstrate a positive and lasting impact on scholarly communications through the implementation and/or use of information technology and networks, as evidenced by publication, the development of environments for the dissemination of information, contributions in the area of data stewardship, or other similar endeavors
  2. Address a specific problem fundamental to scholarship, research, and intellectual productivity and provide an innovative solution using information technology
  3. Help increase awareness of the role of scholarly information and communication through dissemination of effective techniques using computing and information technologies


Send a one-to-two-page letter of nomination, addressing how the nominee meets one or more of the qualifications above, and a bio of the nominee (or URL pointer to biographical information) to PEP-Award@cni.org.

Deadline: November 8, 2019


Paul Evan Peters Award winners receive a commemorative award and are asked to present a major address at a CNI Membership Meeting.

More Information

The award honors Paul Evan Peters, founding director of CNI, who guided the organization until his untimely death in 1996, and who was recognized as one of the 100 most influential people in 20th-century librarianship in the American Libraries listing of December 1999. The award program has been endowed by the Association of Research Libraries, EDUCAUSE, Microsoft Corporation, and Xerox Corporation.

More information is available at www.cni.org/go/pep-award/.