{{ site.title }}

Anne Kenney Wins Hugh Atkinson Memorial Award

Anne R. Kenney, photo by William Staffeld / Cornell AAP

Anne R. Kenney, the Carl A. Kroch university librarian at Cornell University, has been named the 2014 winner of the Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award. The American Library Association (ALA) will present the award to Kenney at the ALA Annual Conference in Las Vegas this summer. Kenney is being honored for her innovative achievements and service to the profession, especially her leadership on such projects as 2CUL, arXiv, Project Euclid, and Making of America; her work on large-scale digitization and digital preservation standards; and her global contributions in Myanmar, Cuba, China, and elsewhere.

Named in honor of one of the pioneers of library automation, the Hugh C. Atkinson Award recognizes an academic librarian who has made significant contributions in the area of library automation or management and has made notable improvements in library services or research. The Atkinson Award is jointly sponsored by four divisions of ALA: the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), the Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS), the Library Leadership and Management Association (LLAMA), and the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA). The award is funded from an endowment established to honor Hugh C. Atkinson.

Kenney is currently a member of ARL’s Membership Committee and she previously served on the ARL Board of Directors in 2010–2013.

For more details about Kenney’s career and the Atkinson Award, see the February 11, 2014, ALA news release, “Anne R. Kenney Wins 2014 Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award” and the February 13 Cornell Chronicle piece, “Kenney Honored by American Library Association.”