{{ site.title }}

ARL Board of Directors 2014–2015 Elected by ARL Membership

Deborah Jakubs
Deborah Jakubs,
ARL president,
image © Duke University

Deborah Jakubs, the Rita DiGiallonardo Holloway university librarian and vice provost for library affairs at Duke University, began a one-year term as president of the Association of Research Libraries (ARL) on Wednesday, October 8, 2014, during the ARL Membership Meeting in Washington, DC. Jakubs succeeds Carol Pitts Diedrichs, vice provost and director of university libraries, the Ohio State University, as ARL president. Diedrichs continues to serve as a member of both the ARL Board of Directors and the ARL Executive Committee as past president.

Also on October 8, the ARL membership ratified the Board’s election of Larry Alford, chief librarian at the University of Toronto, as ARL vice president/president-elect.

Three new Board members were elected by the membership to serve three-year terms: Susan Gibbons, university librarian, Yale University; Bonnie MacEwan, dean of libraries, Auburn University; and John Wilkin, the Juanita J. and Robert E. Simpson dean of libraries and university librarian, the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Additionally, Ann Thornton, the Andrew W. Mellon director, the New York Public Library, was elected to serve a one-year term that was open due to a retirement.

Continuing elected members of the Board are: Mary Case, university librarian and dean of libraries, the University of Illinois at Chicago; Thomas Hickerson, vice provost and university librarian, the University of Calgary; Richard E. Luce, dean of university libraries, professor and Peggy V. Helmerich chair, and associate vice president for research, Norman Campus, the University of Oklahoma; and Mary Ann Mavrinac, vice provost and Andrew H. and Janet Dayton Neilly dean of the River Campus Libraries, the University of Rochester.

Also serving on the Board in ex officio capacities are: David H. Carlson, dean of university libraries, Sterling C. Evans chair, Texas A&M University; Jeffrey L. Horrell, dean of libraries and librarian of the college, Dartmouth College; Brian E. C. Schottlaender, the Audrey Geisel university librarian, the University of California, San Diego; and Elliott Shore, executive director, ARL.

The Board of Directors is the governing body of the Association and represents the interests of ARL member libraries in directing the business of the Association, including establishing operating policies, budgets, and fiscal control; modifying the ARL mission and objectives; and representing ARL to the community.

View a photo roster of the ARL Board of Directors on the ARL website.

The Association of Research Libraries (ARL) is a nonprofit organization of 125 research libraries in the US and Canada. ARL’s mission is to influence the changing environment of scholarly communication and the public policies that affect research libraries and the diverse communities they serve. ARL pursues this mission by advancing the goals of its member research libraries, providing leadership in public and information policy to the scholarly and higher education communities, fostering the exchange of ideas and expertise, facilitating the emergence of new roles for research libraries, and shaping a future environment that leverages its interests with those of allied organizations. ARL is on the web at http://www.arl.org/.