{{ site.title }}

ARL Board of Directors 2018–2019 Elected by ARL Membership

Susan Gibbons

Susan Gibbons, the Stephen F. Gates ’68 University Librarian and deputy provost for collections and scholarly communication at Yale University, began a one-year term as president of the Association of Research Libraries (ARL) on Wednesday, September 26, during the Association’s Fall 2018 Meeting in Washington, DC. Gibbons succeeds Mary Ann Mavrinac, vice provost and the Andrew H. and Janet Dayton Neilly Dean of the University of Rochester Libraries, as ARL president. Mavrinac continues to serve as a member of both the Board of Directors and the Executive Committee as past president.

During the meeting, the Association’s membership ratified the Board’s election of Lorraine Haricombe, vice provost and director of libraries at The University of Texas at Austin, as ARL vice president/president-elect. The membership also ratified the Board’s election of Diane Parr Walker, the Edward H. Arnold University Librarian, University of Notre Dame, as ARL treasurer.

Three new Board members were elected by the membership to serve three-year terms: Bob Fox, dean of university libraries, University of Louisville; Catherine Murray-Rust, dean of libraries, Georgia Institute of Technology; and Jennifer Paustenbaugh, university librarian, Brigham Young University.

Continuing elected members of the Board are: Constantia Constantinou, H. Carton Rogers III Vice Provost and Director of the Penn Libraries, University of Pennsylvania; John Culshaw, the Jack B. King University Librarian, The University of Iowa; Vivian Lewis, university librarian, McMaster University; Adriene Lim, the Philip H. Knight Dean of Libraries, University of Oregon; and Leslie Weir, university librarian emeritus, University of Ottawa.

Also serving on the Board and Executive Committee are Austin Booth, dean of the Division of Libraries, New York University, in her role as chair of the ARL Coordinating Committee, and Mary Lee Kennedy, executive director, Association of Research Libraries.

The Board of Directors is the governing body of the Association and represents the interests of ARL member libraries in directing the business of the Association, including establishing operating policies, budgets, and fiscal control; modifying the ARL mission and objectives; and representing the Association to the community.

View a photo roster of the Association of Research Libraries Board of Directors.

About the Association of Research Libraries

The Association of Research Libraries (ARL) is a nonprofit organization of 125 research libraries in Canada and the US whose mission is to advance research, learning, and scholarly communication. The Association fosters the open exchange of ideas and expertise, promotes equity and diversity, and pursues advocacy and public policy efforts that reflect the values of the library, scholarly, and higher education communities. ARL forges partnerships and catalyzes the collective efforts of research libraries to enable knowledge creation and to achieve enduring and barrier-free access to information. ARL is on the web at ARL.org.