{{ site.title }}

ARL Board of Directors 2019–2020 Elected by ARL Membership

Lorraine Haricombe
Lorraine Haricombe

The Association of Research Libraries (ARL) elected its 2019–2020 Board of Directors on September 24 during the Fall 2019 Association Meeting in Washington, DC. At the end of the meeting on September 25, Lorraine Haricombe, vice provost and director of libraries at The University of Texas at Austin, began a one-year term as president of ARL.

Haricombe succeeds Susan Gibbons, the Stephen F. Gates ’68 University Librarian and vice provost for collections and scholarly communication at Yale University, as ARL president. Gibbons continues to serve as a member of both the Board of Directors and the Executive Committee as past president through the Association’s next Fall Meeting, ending October 7, 2020.

During the meeting this week, the Association’s membership ratified the Board’s election of John Culshaw, the Jack B. King University Librarian at The University of Iowa, as ARL vice president/president-elect for a one-year term. Culshaw will become ARL president on October 7, 2020.

Three new Board members were elected by the membership to serve three-year terms (2019–2022): K. Matthew Dames, university librarian, Boston University; Joe Lucia, dean of libraries, Temple University; and Sarah Pritchard, dean of libraries and the Charles Deering McCormick University Librarian, Northwestern University.

Continuing elected members of the Board are: Bob Fox (2018–2021), dean of university libraries, University of Louisville; Vivian Lewis (2017–2020), university librarian, McMaster University; Adriene Lim (2017–2020), dean of libraries, University of Maryland; Catherine Murray-Rust (2018–2021), dean of libraries, Georgia Tech; and Jennifer Paustenbaugh (2018–2021), university librarian, Brigham Young University.

Also continuing to serve on the Board and Executive Committee are Diane Parr Walker (2016–2021), the Edward H. Arnold University Librarian at the University of Notre Dame, in her role as ARL treasurer, and Mary Lee Kennedy (2018–  ), ARL executive director, in an ex officio, non-voting capacity.

The Board of Directors is the governing body of the Association and represents the interests of ARL member libraries in directing the business of the Association, including establishing operating policies, budgets, and fiscal control; modifying the ARL mission and objectives; and representing the Association to the community.

View photo rosters of the ARL Executive Committee and Board of Directors.


About the Association of Research Libraries

The Association of Research Libraries (ARL) is a nonprofit organization of 124 research libraries in Canada and the US whose mission is to advance research, learning, and scholarly communication. The Association fosters the open exchange of ideas and expertise, promotes equity and diversity, and pursues advocacy and public policy efforts that reflect the values of the library, scholarly, and higher education communities. ARL forges partnerships and catalyzes the collective efforts of research libraries to enable knowledge creation and to achieve enduring and barrier-free access to information. ARL is on the web at ARL.org.