{{ site.title }}

ARL Kaleidoscope Diversity Scholars Selected for 2021–2023

screenshot of ARL Leadership Symposium 2021
virtual ARL Leadership Symposium 2021

Members of the ARL Kaleidoscope Program Selection Working Group have chosen 18 master of library and information science (MLIS) students to participate in the 2021–2023 Kaleidoscope Program as ARL Diversity Scholars.

Funded by ARL member libraries, the Kaleidoscope Program offers financial support to program participants as well as leadership development through the ARL Annual Leadership Symposium, a formal mentoring program, career placement assistance, and a site visit to an ARL member library. This program reflects the commitment of ARL members to address the historical underrepresentation of many racial and ethnic groups within the research library and archives workforce. The Kaleidoscope Program helps create a diverse professional community that will better meet the needs of researchers, students, and other constituencies whose demographics and perspectives are quickly evolving.

“The pool of applicants this year truly reflected the diverse and interdisciplinary directions careers in the information professions can take,” said selection working group member, Zakir Suleman, 2018–2020 Kaleidoscope Program Diversity Scholar. “The number of strong applicants was a testament to the depth of talented BIPOC scholars in LIS, and the need to make sure they are retained within the field.”

The 2021–2023 ARL Diversity Scholars are:

  • Karen Adjei, University of Maryland
  • Lyndon J. Batiste, The University of Alabama
  • danielle luz belanger, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Isabel Carlin, The University of British Columbia
  • Genevia M. Chamblee-Smith, North Carolina Central University
  • Cora Coady, University of Toronto
  • Sylvia Figueroa-Ortiz, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Aparna Ghosh, University of South Florida
  • Sarah M. Henry, Wayne State University
  • Alexis Herrera, University of Michigan
  • Taya Reece Jardine, The University of British Columbia
  • Jessica Nombrano Larsen, San José State University
  • Francisco J. López-Huerta, San José State University
  • Krystal Madkins, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Anthony Martinez, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Rosemary N. Medrano, University of Missouri
  • Ari Negovschi, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Adira-Danique Philyaw, Florida State University

More information about the Kaleidoscope Program and bios and photos of the Diversity Scholars are on the ARL website.


About the Association of Research Libraries

The Association of Research Libraries (ARL) is a nonprofit organization of 125 research libraries in Canada and the US whose mission is to advance research, learning, and scholarly communication. The Association fosters the open exchange of ideas and expertise; advances diversity, equity, and inclusion; and pursues advocacy and public policy efforts that reflect the values of the library, scholarly, and higher education communities. ARL forges partnerships and catalyzes the collective efforts of research libraries to enable knowledge creation and to achieve enduring and barrier-free access to information. ARL is on the web at ARL.org.

, ,