{{ site.title }}

Brian Schottlaender Wins Hugh Atkinson Memorial Award

Brian Schottlaender,
image © UC San Diego

Brian E. C. Schottlaender, the Audrey Geisel university librarian at the University of California (UC), San Diego, has been named the 2015 winner of the Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award. The American Library Association (ALA) will present the award to Schottlaender at the ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco this summer. Schottlaender is being honored for his transformational vision and strategic risk taking, exemplified by initiatives in which he has played a leadership role, such as the Western Regional Storage Trust (WEST), HathiTrust, Pacific Rim Digital Library Alliance, and Chronopolis.

Named in honor of one of the pioneers of library automation, the Hugh C. Atkinson Award recognizes an academic librarian who has made significant contributions in the area of library automation or management and has made notable improvements in library services or research. The Atkinson Award is jointly sponsored by four divisions of ALA: the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), the Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS), the Library Leadership and Management Association (LLAMA), and the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA). The award is funded from an endowment established to honor Hugh C. Atkinson.

Schottlaender has served as an ex officio member of the ARL Board of Directors since 2012 and is currently chairing ARL’s Strategic Thinking and Design Transition Team. He was elected ARL president for 2005–2006 and was an ARL Board member from 2001 through 2007, in addition to serving on numerous ARL committees, task forces, and working groups over the past 15 years.

For more details about Schottlaender’s career and the Atkinson Award, see the February 17, 2015, ALA news release, “Brian Schottlaender Wins 2015 Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award” and the February 17 UC San Diego news release, “UC San Diego’s Head Librarian Wins Top Award from American Library Association.”