{{ site.title }}

Charles J. Henry Elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Charles J. Henry
Charles J. Henry, image courtesy of CLIR

The American Academy of Arts & Sciences announced today the election of Charles J. Henry, president of the Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR), as a member of the class of 2020. According to the announcement:

The American Academy of Arts & Sciences was founded in 1780 by John Adams, John Hancock, and others who believed the new republic should honor exceptionally accomplished individuals and engage them in advancing the public good.…The new members join the company of Academy members elected before them, including Benjamin Franklin and Alexander Hamilton in the eighteenth century; Ralph Waldo Emerson and Maria Mitchell in the nineteenth; Robert Frost, Martha Graham, Margaret Mead, Milton Friedman, and Martin Luther King, Jr. in the twentieth; and — in the past two decades — Antonin Scalia, Michael Bloomberg, John Lithgow, Judy Woodruff, and Bryan Stevenson.

See the April 23, 2020, American Academy of Arts & Sciences press release, “New 2020 Members Announced.”