{{ site.title }}

Dana Rooks Honored by TXLA with Lifetime Achievement Award

Dana C. Rooks,
photo by Mary Ann Emerson, © TXLA

The Texas Library Association (TXLA) presented its 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award to Dana C. Rooks during the TXLA Annual Conference in San Antonio in April. Rooks is dean of libraries and Elizabeth D. Rockwell chair at the University of Houston.

The award recognizes Rooks’s exemplary career in librarianship. Among her accomplishments is her leadership in establishing TexShare, a statewide program that delivers thousands of digital research journals and materials online through Texas libraries. She also founded the Texas Council of Academic Libraries and helped in the foundation of the Texas Digital Library, which works to secure a digital infrastructure to support a fully online scholarly community for institutions of higher education.

Rooks, a former president of TXLA, is the only Texas librarian to be awarded all three of the association’s top awards. She previously received the Texas Librarian of the Year Award in 1997 and the Distinguished Service Award in 2009.

For more details about Rooks’s career and the award, see the May 14 University of Houston Libraries’ News article by Esmeralda Fisher, “UH Libraries’ Dean Rooks Receives Lifetime Achievement Award.”