{{ site.title }}

DPLA Appoints New Board Members, Announces New Committees

dpla-logoThe Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) has announced the appointment of four new members to its Board of Directors: Robert Darnton, the Carl H. Pforzheimer university professor and university librarian at Harvard and former DPLA Steering Committee member; Jamie Hollier, president of Anneal and partner in Commerce Kitchen; Amy Ryan, president of the Boston Public Library and former DPLA Steering Committee member; and Siva Vaidhyanathan, the Robertson professor in media studies and chair of the Department of Media Studies, University of Virginia.

The DPLA also announced the formation of five new committees to advise on the operations of DPLA, which launches April 18. The committee members are experts and leaders in a range of fields in private and public industry, government, academia, public and academic libraries, and other innovative sectors. The committees include: Advisory Committee, Content Strategy Committee, Legal Committee, Marketing and Outreach Committee, and Technical Advisory Committee. Each committee is led by a small team of co-chairs. A group of 10-20 volunteer members is responsible for seeking out and incorporating public input into the activities of the committee. Participation in all committees is open to the public.

For more details, including committee descriptions and rosters, see the DPLA news item, “Digital Public Library of America Appoints Four New Board Members, Announces New Committees.”