{{ site.title }}

Jon E. Cawthorne Named Dean of Wayne State University Library System

Jon E. Cawthorne, image courtesy of Wayne State

Wayne State University has appointed Jon E. Cawthorne as dean of the University Library System, effective August 1, 2017. Cawthorne is currently dean of libraries at West Virginia University. He participated in the ARL Leadership Fellows Program in 2011–2012 and the ARL Leadership & Career Development Program in 1997–1998. 

At Wayne State, Cawthorne will lead the University Libraries, the School of Library and Information Science, and the Walter P. Reuther Library of Labor and Urban Affairs, which constitute the University Library System. Cawthorne will succeed Sandra Yee, who is retiring this summer, after 16 years as dean.

For more details about Cawthorne and his appointment, see the June 6, 2017, Wayne State news release, “Wayne State University Names Jon E. Cawthorne Dean of School of Library and Information Science and the University Libraries.”