{{ site.title }}

Sarah Thomas Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Sarah Thomas, image courtesy of KT Bruce

Sarah Thomas, vice president for the Harvard Library and Roy E. Larsen librarian for the Faculty of Arts and Sciences at Harvard, has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The academy is one of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies and a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to academy publications and studies of science and technology policy; energy and global security; social policy and American institutions; and the humanities, arts, and education.

Since its founding in 1780, the academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers,” including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the 18th century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the 19th century, and Margaret Meade and Martin Luther King Jr. in the 20th century. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners. Library leaders among the academy’s current fellows are James Billington and Sanjay Subrahmanyan from the Library of Congress; David S. Ferriero from the US National Archives and Records Administration; Werner Gundersheimer from the Folger Shakespeare Library; Michael A. Keller from Stanford University Libraries; Steven Koblik from the Huntington Library, Art Collection, and Botanical Gardens; Anthony Marx and Jean Strouse from the New York Public Library; and Jan Ziolkowski from Harvard’s Dumbarton Oaks Research Library.

Thomas, along with other newly elected members of the Academy of Arts and Sciences, will be honored at an induction weekend in Cambridge, Massachusetts, in early October 2014.

For more information, see the May 5, 2014, Harvard College Library News article by Beth Giudicessi, “Sarah Thomas Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences,” and the April 23 American Academy of Arts and Sciences press release, “American Academy of Arts and Sciences Elects Its 2014 Class of Members.”

Updated on June 16, 2014, to include David S. Ferriero of the US National Archives and Records Administration and Michael A. Keller of Stanford University Libraries in the list of library leaders who are members of the academy. Many thanks to Susan Nutter and Chris Bourg for noting these omissions.