{{ site.title }}

Stanford Prize for Innovation in Research Libraries (SPIRL) 2014 Submissions Due January 15

Stanford University, Green Library
image © Jill Clardy

Stanford University Libraries has launched the second Stanford Prize for Innovation in Research Libraries (SPIRL), a prize to recognize and celebrate innovation through programs, projects, and/or new or improved services that directly or indirectly benefit readers and users. The goal of the prize is to single out for community attention and to celebrate functionally significant results of the innovative impulses in libraries anywhere in the world that support research.

Eligibility for SPIRL includes research, national, or other libraries that support research activities. Awards will be based on a single programmatic or project undertaking and/or a sustained culture and profile of encouraging effective and sustainable innovation; the effect of such efforts must have measurable impact on the library’s own clientele as well as the potential for influencing the practices and/or standards of research librarianship generally.

Entries must be received on or before January 15, 2014. Official entry form and rules are available on the SPIRL website. The winner(s) will be announced in late February 2014 and a modest cash purse will be awarded.

Chief judge for SPIRL 2014 will be Elisabeth Niggemann (Deutsch Nationalbibliothek). Other judges will be Dame Lynne Brindley (Pembroke College, Oxford), Charles Henry (Council on Library and Information Resources), Rick Luce (University of Oklahoma), Ann Okerson (Center for Research Libraries), Bruno Racine (Bibliothèque nationale de France), Dongfang Shao (Library of Congress), and Karin Wittenborg (University of Virginia).

For more information, including a list of the 2013 winners, visit the SPIRL website.