{{ site.title }}

ARL Leadership Fellows 2021–2022 Selected

navy blue graphic of arrows pointing up to the right
image © iStock.com/Eightshot Studio

The ARL Leadership Fellows Program Selection Working Group and the Leadership Fellows Task Force have chosen 20 fellows for the 2021–2022 Leadership Fellows cohort. The new cohort brings together an immensely diverse and highly accomplished group of library leaders, representing the broadest range of research institutions and communities in the history of the Leadership Fellows program.

The ARL Leadership Fellows program, the flagship offering of the ARL Academy, develops and prepares the next generation of senior library and archival leaders. Since 2004, the ARL Leadership Fellows program has successfully equipped and supported library and archives staff who have the desire and potential for leadership in a variety of research settings, including ARL member institutions, other research libraries and archives, public and private institutions, knowledge and cultural heritage institutions, and private enterprise worldwide.

Past Leadership Fellows have emerged as successful leaders in a wide array of roles and settings, including as deans and directors of research libraries and archives and as leaders at all levels in various organizations. After they complete the program, fellows find continued support through peer-to-peer relationships and a lifelong professional network of colleagues.

“The 2021–2022 applicants represented an impressively diverse set of institutions and backgrounds,” said Holly Jeffcoat, a member of the Leadership Fellows Selection Working Group, a past Leadership Fellow (2018–2019), and the dean of SMU Libraries. “It was an honor to review the applicants’ many accomplishments and variety of experiences. This immensely talented cohort will be unlike any other as they navigate the societal and professional challenges and opportunities ahead. I look forward to their leadership and impact on the profession for years to come.”

The 2021–2022 ARL Leadership Fellows are:

  • Miranda Bennett, University of South Carolina
  • Meg Brown-Sica, Colorado State University
  • Elizabeth Brumfield, Prairie View A&M University
  • Jillian Cuellar, Tulane University
  • Dracine Hodges, Duke University
  • Jack Leong, York University
  • Elizabeth Lorang, University of Nebraska–Lincoln
  • Loryl MacDonald, University of Toronto
  • Nandita Mani, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Erin Matas, Michigan Technological University
  • Heather McMullen, Queen’s University
  • Michael Meth, San José State University
  • Ry Moran, University of Victoria
  • Cynthia Pierard, The University of New Mexico
  • Lauren Pressley, University of Washington
  • Kristina Rose, New York University
  • Jill Sexton, NC State University
  • Sarah Shreeves, The University of Arizona
  • Sophia Sotilleo, Lincoln University
  • Lisa Spiro, Rice University

More information about the Leadership Fellows program as well as bios and photos of the new fellows are on the ARL website.


About the Association of Research Libraries

The Association of Research Libraries (ARL) is a nonprofit organization of 125 research libraries in Canada and the US whose mission is to advance research, learning, and scholarly communication. The Association fosters the open exchange of ideas and expertise; advances diversity, equity, and inclusion; and pursues advocacy and public policy efforts that reflect the values of the library, scholarly, and higher education communities. ARL forges partnerships and catalyzes the collective efforts of research libraries to enable knowledge creation and to achieve enduring and barrier-free access to information. ARL is on the web at ARL.org.